Cover your tracks

Warning: If you are worried about someone knowing you have visited this website please read the following safety information. How can an abuser discover your internet activities? Please take a few minutes to read the warning below and follow the steps to increase your safety when visiting this website. As a rule, internet browsers will save certain information as you surf the internet. This includes images from websites visited, information entered into search engines and a trail ('history') that reveals the sites you have visited. Please follow the instructions below to minimize the chances of someone finding out that you have visited this website. If you know what browser you are using, then skip to the relevant instructions below. If you do not know the type of browser you are using, click on Help on the toolbar at the top of the browser screen. A drop down menu will appear, the last entry will say About 'Internet Explorer', About 'Mozilla Firefox', or something similar. The entry refers to which browser type you are using - you should then refer to the relevant instructions below.

Internet Explorer

Cover you tracks in Internet Explorer

Click on the Tools menu and select Internet Options. On the General page, under Temporary Internet Files, click on Delete Cookies and then OK. Click on Delete Files, put a tick in the box labeled Delete all offline content and click OK. Under History, click on Clear History and then OK. Now look at the top of the window and click on the Content tab, select AutoComplete and finally, Clear Forms.

Firefox

Cover you tracks in Firefox

Click on Tools and then Options, then click on Clear Private Data. Click on the Clear button next to Cache and Saved Form Information.


Opera

Cover you tracks in Opera

Click on Tools and then Preferences. Click on the Advanced tab and then the History section on the left-hand side. Click the two Clear buttons and the Empty Now button.


Safari

Cover you tracks in Safari

PC - Click on Edit and choose Reset Safari. You then get this confirmation screen where you can decide what to keep and what needs to go. Keep in mind that once you hit the Reset button there is no turning back. Apple - Click on Safari menu and select Empty Cache. Select the History Menu and click on Clear History.

Chrome

Cover you tracks in Chrome

Click the Tools menu. Select Clear browsing data. Select the checkboxes for the types of information you wish to remove. Clear browsing history, Clear download history, Empty the cache, Delete cookies Clear and saved passwords. Use the 'Clear data from this period' drop-down menu to select how much of your information you want to delete. By default, Google Chrome only clears information collected in the last 24 hours. To clear browsing information from a longer period of time, select another option in the drop-down menu. To wipe out all data, select the Everything option. Click the Clear Browsing Data button.

Deleting your browsing history

Internet browsers also keep a record of all the web pages you visit. This is known as a 'history'. To delete history for Internet Explorer and Firefox hold down the Ctrl key on the keyboard, then press the H key (Crtl, Alt and H for Opera). Find any entries that say degwynedd.co.uk, right click and choose Delete.

E-mail

If an abuser sends you threatening or harassing e-mail messages, they may be printed and saved as evidence of this abuse. Any email you have previously sent will be stored in Sent Items. If you started an email but didn't finish it, it might be in your Drafts folder. If you reply to any email, the original message will probably be in the body of the message - print and delete the email if you don't want anyone to see your original message.

When you delete an item in any email program (Outlook Express, Outlook, Thunderbird etc) it does not really delete the item - it moves the item to a folder called Deleted Items. You have to delete the items in Deleted Items separately. Right-click on items within the Deleted Items folder to delete individual items.

Toolbars

Toolbars such as Google, AOL and Yahoo keep a record of the search words you have typed into the toolbar search box. In order to erase all the search words you have typed in, you will need to check the individual instructions for each type of toolbar. For example, for the Google toolbar all you need to do is click on the Google icon, and choose "Clear Search History".

General security

If you do not use a password to log on to your computer, someone else will be able to access your email and track your internet usage. The safest way to find information on the internet, would be at a local library, a friend's house, or at work.

All of the above information may not completely hide your tracks. Many browser types have features that display recently visited sites.